I’m not so good…

Ok, so maybe I’m not as good at this blogging thing as I thought I would be…I promise, I’m going to start updating this more.

First off, thanks for the birthday wishes!

Secondly, the election is finally over and I couldn’t be happier, at least with the Presidential pick. I am really disappointed in the people of California though. And that includes the politicians that made Proposition 8 a ballot question in the first place. I agree with the ACLU in that something as important as equality and rights should not have been left up to a simple ballot initiative and popular vote. This is an issue that will obviously not die anytime soon.

The Mormon church, which helped lead the fight for Proposition 8 claims that the ban “is not against any group in our society. Its sole focus is on preserving God’s plan for people living upon this earth throughout time.” Well I think Melissa Etheridge has a very appropriate response: if I don’t get equal rights, then that means I’m not a full citizen, and that in turns means that I don’t have to pay taxes. “Gay people are born everyday. You will never legislate that away.” Couldn’t have said it better myself, Melissa!

Published in: on November 7, 2008 at 9:57 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://scotthultman.wordpress.com/2008/11/07/im-not-so-good/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

